Tags

, , , , ,

I read Fifty Shades of Grey back in the day like everyone else and loved it! Back then, I was a Twilight fan who was looking for something darker. When I heard they were coming out with a movie in ’15 I was ecstatic to see it all play out on the big screen. Unfortunately, the movie wasn’t that wonderful, but I wasn’t upset. I had already drank the Kool-aid, and I was invested. I couldn’t wait to see Fifty Shades Darker. I’ve been eating up every trailer for the last two months! February 11, 2017 couldn’t come soon enough!

Last week,  I reclined my seat back with my best friend in tow. This was just the preliminary viewing, mind you. I already had a second screen-shot-2017-02-12-at-10-36-39-amdate to see the movie with my sister-in-law and niece scheduled.

Did I mention I am a super fan? I re-read the series in January in preparation for Darker. So, two viewings of this movie is definitely warranted to get the full effect. But now I have a small problem. I could barely get through the first viewing!

It isn’t the acting, the actors were good and believable (it doesn’t hurt that Christian is much hotter this go around). My biggest problem is how the story is delivered; the transition from page to screen. Exposition overload!!! The dialogue sounded like they were reciting from pages from the book. And believe me when I say spilling fact after fact doesn’t move the story, it hurts it!

Perhaps my issue is that I know the book too well. I mean, when Ana is writing on his skin and asks if the scars are burns, all I could think was...wasn’t that established in the first movie? 

As a reader, I will likely always have this problem when a book I love goes to film. I wanted this movie to be good, better than the last one. I wanted to love it, because I love the characters from the book. But to say I was very disappointed is, in fact, the understatement of 2017.

Sadly, I will have to cancel my second viewing plans.

