Tags

, ,

I’ve been sharing my novella Dominic chapter by chapter every week. You may already know Dominic (aka Tyson) from The Seven Chambers Series (specifically Stolen Flame). This is his story of how he came to be employed at The Chamber. Please sign up for my newsletter to continue reading Dominic! 

*The following contains explicit content, 18+ readers, please. Also, this is a draft copy which has not been edited for publication.

Dominic

The Men of the Seven Chambers Series

A Novella

by D.W. Marshall

Making rounds today is different. Usually, I feel a sense of ownership for this place, a feeling that this is my home. Not anymore. Vivian being here is prying my eyes open and dusting off the layer of crust that has gathered upon my heart. This is no longer home to me and I don’t want to be here anymore. Mason can carry on, do whatever the fuck he wants, but after this year he will have to do it without me. This isn’t one of those in-it-for-life organizations, I can leave whenever the fuck I want.

The box, which is actually a rectangle this year is buzzing with activity. From a silent spot images 2in the corner, I watch the guards at work. They are a well-oiled machine. They don’t even need me. There are even a couple of guys who could assume my responsibilities with relative ease and some extra grooming from me. This I will do on the sly, under the guise of a “just in case I get sick or worse” sort of scenario.

I don’t know when I will be able to spend any time with Vivian, or Flame. I’d better start calling her that lest I slip up and reveal too much.

Hours go by before Zee is knocking at my door. I have completed rounds, twice and met with the lottery winners that are hanging around. I gave them the speech about being respectful, treating the women well or suffering the consequences. I meet with Mason and decide against one last attempt to release Vivian, I mean Flame. If I keep after him, I may ruin everything.

“Finally!” I say when she walks through my door. I gave her the access code a long time ago. Always the same group of numbers in varying combination, my mother’s birthday, the day she passed, and the day Vivian popped up on the screen. For me, the latter two have come to be the most significant days of my life.

“Boy, do you have it bad! I came as soon as I could!” she says, taking a seat at my small dining table. Instead of getting down to business she reaches into my small cooler and pops open a cold soda.

“You are stalling on purpose to make me suffer!” I yell.

Her eyebrows rise and she feigns shock. “Me?” She clutches her chest for added drama. “Never!”

“Remember, I can be the opposite of helpful in our next training session. You wanna learn how to be a lethal killing machine or not?” I tease. She knows I would never jeopardize her training. In a place like this, a young lady needs to know how to defend herself.

“Fine! Sit.”

I do what she says. She has my complete attention.

Thank you so much for tuning in and reading! Read more of The Seven Chambers Series.

*Draft copy which has not been edited for publication

© Copyright 2016 D.W. Marshall