Tags

, , , ,

I’ve been sharing my novella Dominic chapter by chapter every week. You may already know Dominic (aka Tyson) from The Seven Chambers Series (specifically Stolen Flame). This is his story of how he came to be employed at The Chamber. Please sign up for my newsletter to continue reading Dominic! 

*The following contains explicit content, 18+ readers, please. Also, this is a draft copy which has not been edited for publication.

Dominic

The Men of the Seven Chambers Series

A Novella

by D.W. Marshall

Chapter Eight

I can’t believe the time has come to bring in the Chamber year eight girls. The year of Vivian. I have gotten to know her very well over the last two years. I know that she has two best friends, Maddie and Liam. I am pretty sure that she is in love with Liam, and unless he is a fool he loves her too. I have seen the way they look at each other. I know that she is a daddy’s girl, and he is going to be crushed when his baby is gone. I know that she is turning twenty-one in the morning, but she won’t get to spend it the way she wants. I know that she will be with me. It’s my birthday too same day as hers. Two hot-headed Arians.

I know that she is quick tempered and strong willed. She isn’t afraid to be vulnerable and images 2she loves to smile and be happy. I also know that I am head over heels in love with her, and after tonight I could be the enemy in her eyes.

This years’ Chamber is in Canada. A beautiful coastal local. I am no longer blindfolded, I haven’t been for a long time, I am Mason’s most trusted employee and friend, and I think I may hate him for making me put the woman I love through this.

I and three other guards are sitting on a dark Las Vegas street in a very nice neighborhood in a kidnapper van, and no one has called the cops. Perhaps because it is three in the morning. Happy Birthday to me. I get to kidnap the woman I love on our shared birthday.

It only takes us minutes to disable the alarm, break into the back door and sneak inside. I know where her room is and my heart stops when we open the door and I see her laying in bed. So innocent, so beautiful. She is going to fucking hate me. I pause for a second when she stirs, and only proceed forward when she is still. I slip the hood over her head and pray that she doesn’t scream before we can drug her. I cover her mouth as gently as I can, but something is off. She isn’t thrashing or panicking. She comes along willingly. I uncover her mouth because she is trying to speak, and I realize she thinks we are her friends staging a fake kidnapping for her birthday no doubt. We head to the door and I pause to let her put on her shoes, it is too cold to walk out barefoot, and I don’t want her to be carried.

She gets in the van without a word. When we drive away she starts to complain about the bag over her head smelling, but she has to remain sightless. When she pulls the hood off, that’s when Joe, the guard on her right puts the cloth to her face and she is out. Her head lolls to the side, toward Joe and I give him a don’t even touch her again look, and he eases her toward me. I put my arm around her and let her rest into my chest. And for the moment I can pretend that this isn’t happening, that I am not going to hell for this.

Thank you so much for tuning in and reading! Read more of The Seven Chambers Series.

*Draft copy which has not been edited for publication

© Copyright 2016 D.W. Marshall