Tags

, ,

This week, I am posting an excerpt from my novella, Dominic. I’ve been sharing this novella chapter by chapter in my newsletter. It is the story of Dominic, who you may already know from The Seven Chambers Series (specifically Stolen Flame). This is Dominic’s story—his background and how he came to be employed at The Chamber. Please sign up for my newsletter to continue reading Dominic! 

*The following contains explicit content, 18+ readers, please. Also, this is a draft copy which has not been edited for publication.

Dominic

The Men of the Seven Chambers Series

A Novella

by D.W. Marshall

Chapter Two (cont’d)

 

I meet up with my family and am quieter than usual at dinner, listening to my family chatter about this and that. We were always a chatty bunch. Animated mother and father, equals animated kids. Thankfully, my sisters haven’t lost their sparkle. Unfortunately, mine is forever gone. My sister is going out with her friends after dinner, my dad and other sister Dacia were headed home. I give them all hugs, promise to visit soon, and make my way to my hotel. I’m sure my old room is an option for me, but I am not ready for more of a reunion than this. I come from shiny happy people, and I am dull and depressed. Spending any more time trying to stuff a square peg into a round hole would only lead to problems.

 

Chapter Three

 

I have no idea what my next move is. I never mentioned to my dad what I was doing with my life and he didn’t ask. Last he knew I was in the military, but I’m sure he was fearful of my answer. I changed so much after what happened and my dad did not approve of the man I became, I’m not sure how well he would have rebounded after seeing his wife gunned down in front of him. I was left to cope, heal, and deal with the nightmares, the images 2anger, the fear, and the pain all alone and sixteen. As if those hormones weren’t enough to make you crazy! I suddenly remember the card in my pocket.

I pop open a can of beer and sit on the sofa in the tiny living room of my small suite and pull out the card. The card itself is black and simply says Mason Wilde on the front in Aluminum foil silver. I flip it over and there is a number written in the same silver color. What the hell? The only thing I can do is see what he has to say.

“This is Mason,” the voice says.

“It’s Dominic, we met earlier. I am interested.”

“Great. Meet me at the airport in Waikiki in two hours at the private hangar. If you have a passport, bring it. If you don’t, no worries. You start tonight.”

I start tonight? I’m getting on a plane? To go where? These are all questions I should have asked Mason before I hung up, but the truth was I simply didn’t give a fuck. Four million a year and no killing.

I don’t pack shit. My passport and identification. I take a cab to the airport and am directed to the private hangar.

“You made it!” Mason shouts with too much enthusiasm for my taste.

“I suppose, so what is this job that I seem to have taken without description?”

“Come,” he says.

We climb the steps of the jet. A G-6, sleek and sexy with charcoal and black throughout. Leather seats. I take one. Mason sits across from me.

“Where are we heading?”

“Unfortunately, I am not at liberty to say just yet.”

“Why did you come looking for me?” I sit back as we taxi down the runway, waiting for his answer, we have nothing but time.

A pretty young woman walks toward us and hands us two large glasses of champagne. “To new beginnings,” Mason says and he touches his glass to mine. I am not a big champagne guy, but I’m thirsty enough, so I down it.

“You were saying?” Mason asks.

Before I can answer I feel the effects of the drug that was put into my drink. “You fucking drugged me?”

“Not enough so you pass out, but enough so that you don’t decide to kill me when I give you your job description. I risk a lot exposing myself, but I believe you are a perfect fit.”

My head is loose and feels bouncy. I don’t make a habit of drinking in any excess. I need to be in control of myself at all times. “I should fucking kill you right now,” I say but the words don’t come out that clear.

Mason laughs. “You see? I was correct to subdue you. You and I are going to be great friends, Dominic.”

 

Thank you so much for tuning in and reading! Read more of The Seven Chambers Series.

 

*Draft copy which has not been edited for publication

© Copyright 2016 D.W. Marshall