Tags

, , ,

This week, I am posting an excerpt from my novella, Dominic. I’ve been sharing this novella chapter by chapter in my newsletter. It is the story of Dominic, who you may already know from The Seven Chambers Series (specifically Stolen Flame). This is Dominic’s story—his background and how he came to be employed at The Chamber. Please sign up for my newsletter to continue reading Dominic! 

*The following contains explicit content, 18+ readers, please. Also, this is a draft copy which has not been edited for publication.

Dominic

The Men of the Seven Chambers Series

A Novella

by D.W. Marshall

Chapter Two (cont’d)

 

I met Mason when I was twenty-four years old. I was done killing, I retired from an assassins’ life. No matter how awful the person was that I was assigned to take out, no matter how indefensible their crime, killing them wasn’t going to bring back my ma. I would never see her again. Nothing would ever change that.

Mason came into my life the day of my sister Dallas’s high school graduation. It was the last place I wanted to be, and the place I wanted to be most in the world. I was so proud of her. She had grown into a beautiful and smart young woman, without the help of her mother and her big brother. She was already accepted to USC with a full ride scholarship, all of us affected by our mother’s death. Dallas wants to become a lawyer and her sights set on politics so that she can help put an end to gang violence. This year the graduation ceremony was being held at the Polynesian Cultural Center. When Dallas Luke’s name was announced, I clapped and cheered the loudest, because I was clapping and cheering for ma. It was the one and only day since I was sixteen that I allowed myself to smile.

Of all places to make Mason’s acquaintance it was in the bathroom.

“Hello, are you by chance Dominic Luke?” He asks me when we are washing our hands at the sink.

I don’t say a word to him. Instead, I assess him. Just under six-feet, strong, but not bulky. images 2Dark hair, white skin, dark piercing gaze. I can take him out without thought, and since he knows me and I don’t know who the fuck he is, I see the cold bathroom floor in his immediate future. “Who the fuck is asking?” I ask. I’m not the same person I was when I was a teen. I grew an additional three inches to a full six-three, and a well-muscled two-hundred and forty pounds, of lethal—don’t fuck with me.

“I’m not here to cause you any trouble. I am here to offer you a job, one in security, high paying, and no killing,” he says handing me a business card.

I don’t take my eyes off of him to look at the card. Never take your eye off of someone you may need to beat the shit out of. Instead, I stuff it into my back pocket. I grab a couple paper towels, continuing to assess him. One thing I notice is his confidence as he too is maintaining eye-contact. “You would be in charge of my entire security team. The job starts immediately, pays four million per year, and requires travel, and complete discretion. Call me by tonight if you are interested.”

And he was gone. Hmph. That was some weird shit. Random intense dude follows me into the bathroom to offer me a job.

 

Thank you so much for tuning in and reading! More CAFS coming soon!

 

*Draft copy which has not been edited for publication

© Copyright 2016 D.W. Marshall