Tags

, , ,

This week, for variety, I am posting an excerpt from my novella, Dominic. I’ve been sharing this novella chapter by chapter in my newsletter. It is the story of Dominic, who you may already know from The Seven Chambers Series (specifically Stolen Flame). This is Dominic’s story—his background and how he came to be employed at The Chamber. Please sign up for my newsletter to continue reading Dominic! 

*The following contains explicit content, 18+ readers, please. Also, this is a draft copy which has not been edited for publication.

Dominic

The Men of the Seven Chambers Series

A Novella

by D.W. Marshall

Chapter One (cont’d)

“Nice ride,” one of them says about our car, turning their attention to us, as I opened the door for ma to get in on the passenger side. Our car was a Ford Explorer, nothing fancy. “I hope home isn’t too far, because you two will be walking.”

My ma doesn’t get in, but I stand in front of her. “I’m sorry but we don’t want any trouble.” I tried to back ma up so that she will sit in the passenger seat. I can close the door and keep her safe, in case I have to fight these three criminals. “I’m just gonna get into the drivers seat so I can take my mother home.”

The creeps close in. “Not so fast. I said we are gonna be taking your ride tonight, son.”
I walk toward the drivers seat, I need to get us out of here. There were three gun shots, one shattered the passenger side window, and two were aimed at me. My shoulder felt like it was set on fire when the bullet hit. I didn’t stop to see the damage the bullet caused, I had to get to ma. The punks scattered, while I made my way to the passenger side. There was so much blood, it didn’t take me long to figure out that the bullet hit my precious dear mother in the head. Time stopped as I pulled her out of the car, and I knew in an instant she was gone. I held her in my arms until the police and ambulance arrived, but it would take the whole lot of them to separate me from my ma. I knew that would be the last time I would ever get to touch her again. That’s when I lost my sight.

Chapter Two

During my stay in the hospital. I had to undergo surgery to remove the bullet from my shoulder. Police later informed me that the assholes never wanted our car, and that my ma and I were part of a gang initiation. Random and senseless.

I was in the hospital for a couple of days, and after my release, I know I left part of my images 2spirit and soul somewhere else, perhaps it ascended with ma, ’cause it didn’t stay with me.

I never suited up for football again.

I never suited up for life again

What was the fucking point?

That was it. My defining moment. A mother taken to soon from her young family, in front of her teenage son. Leaving behind two young daughter’s and a grieving husband. I only left my room to attend school, and by the beginning of my senior year I took my GED. I turned eighteen in April, and went into the Marines. It was the happiest and saddest day of my pop’s life, because he needed me gone but didn’t want me to go. I was in need of so much back then, but we were simple people, neither of my parent’s saw a need for education beyond high school. I should have been under the care of a physician for depression, anger management, and PTSD. I needed help, but it never came.

My military life was more of the same, except what my family and friends saw as dangerous behavior, the military saw as assets. I was an accomplished sniper and my lack of seeing things as exactly black or white, right or wrong, and more or less shades of grey, made me the perfect black ops type of candidate. I did things that I will never be proud of, but I never questioned my missions. Each person I took out was the asshole who killed my ma.

All of this made me an asset for another pair of eyes. Mason Wilde.
Thank you so much for tuning in and reading! More CAFS coming soon!

 

*Draft copy which has not been edited for publication

© Copyright 2016 D.W. Marshall