Tags

,

imagesThis review is a tad bit late, but better late than never! In its opening weekend, I watched the final installment of The Hunger Games. I was a huge fan of the books when they came out, reading the entire series in less than a week. Then I found and read other books by Suzanne Collins because I love her story telling style.

However, when the movies came out, I was still swept up in Twilight Fever, so my energy was never completely given to The Hunger Games Craze. The movies were all very well done (of course, not as good as the books as is so often the case). This final movie was awesome. I feel that they wrapped 90% of the series up for me in an action-filled tiny little bow, with a couple of exceptions.

  1. Gale. I know in the books Katniss doesn’t end up with him. I get that. But in the movie, I believe a conversation, however brief, was needed between them. Instead, she dismisses him because she believes he shares responsibility for Primrose’s death. This goes against what Katniss believes to be true about his character. I mean, he has spent the entire installment taking care of her family. Didn’t like that.
  1. The ending. While, yes, it ended the way the book did, it was just too damn sweet. And, Katniss holding a baby after everything she went through might have been okay to read, but it didn’t fit after visually feasting on all the violence she was a part of. I know this isn’t just a feeling of mine as I heard people, who didn’t read the books questioning the ending.

That’s it, though. The rest of it was engaging, exciting and well performed. The final installment did not disappoint, and I plan to add this movie to my collection when it comes out on DVD.

