Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

poster-NWAI went to see Straight Outta Compton with my best friend. Both of us couldn’t wait because we grew up in the 80’s. I was excited about the music, hearing their story. I left the theater with something else……

There is a lot of anger toward the police in NWA’s lyrics, that is for certain. The scary thing is that in 30 years, it doesn’t seem like a lot has changed. When I watched the story unfold, and these black men were harassed by the police for simply standing in a nice neighborhood, or looking a certain way, it brought tears to my eyes. AT ONE POINT ICE CUBE’S CHARACTER HAD SCHOOL BOOKS IN HIS HAND, AND WAS STILL HORRIBLY ABUSED!

NO ONE CAN TAKE SUCH CRUELTY ON A REGULAR DAILY BASIS AND NOT HAVE A ANGRY HEART!!!!

Here is the thing, we are all human beings. Making another HUMAN being put their face on the DIRTY ground simply because you think they are guilty of something BASED ON THEIR APPEARANCE is a problem. Every person has their PRIDE, DIGNITY, AND SELF-ESTEEM. The way you approach another human being directly impacts that.

The entire time I watched these young men being mistreated, I kept thinking…

 No wonder they are so angry!

I would not get on the ground face down, either!

I would want to stand up for myself! Because they are infringing upon my civil rights!

I am black, my best friend is white. We both cried and became angry during those scenes!

Here is the problem– THIS IS NOT ALL COPS! I live in Las Vegas. I have a black husband and 2 black teenaged sons. Any interaction that we have ever had has been pleasant, very pleasant. My children don’t fear the police in our city. We speak to officers out in the community. Our son’s have NEVER been stopped or harassed. But we live in the suburbs. Does that make a difference? Should it?

Here is my solution– ROTATE THE DAMN INNER CITY COPS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I don’t care what race you are. If you put me in an area with extreme violence, I am going to be much more on guard! I am going to suspect EVERY PERSON I COME IN CONTACT WITH, BECAUSE IT IS HUMAN NATURE TO PROTECT YOURSELF!

If the officers are rotated and spend time in all areas of their community, (inner city, rural areas, suburbs, and business areas), this would allow them to see black, white, Hispanic, Asian, Native American, Indian, Pacific Islanders, and so on, and so on, in every light. Therefore shattering stereotypes!!! And giving them an opportunity to experience their work environment in lower crime areas.

MY OTHER SOLUTION- SCREEN, SCREEN, SCREEN!!! WE NEED TO MAKE SURE THAT THE PEOPLE PROTECTING AND SERVING, AREN’T EX-HIGH SCHOOL BULLY’S LOOKING FOR POWER, AND ARE TRULY PEOPLE WHO WANT TO PROTECT AND HELP OTHER PEOPLE.

FOR EXAMPLE- I DON’T WANT THE DOCTOR OPERATING ON ME, WHO WENT TO MEDICAL SCHOOL FOR THE PRESTIGE! I WANT THE PERSON WHO ALWAYS WANTED TO HELP PEOPLE THEIR WHOLE LIVES!!!!!!!!

OH, And one more thing!!!! If you are being harassed or abused by any person in a power position, make a paper trail. Report them, EVERYTIME!!! I mean, Every SINGLE TIME!!! Write your politicians, their supervisors!! Start exercising your rights, and using your voice!!! Especially if the only thing you are guilty of is being yourself.

Not that anyone cares about I think (smile).

I would love to live in a world where every person was created equal. Where race and money didn’t matter. I guess the only thing I can continue to do is feel that way and live that way myself, and make sure that my children never judge someone based on something they can’t change.

I will shut up now J

D.W. Marshall